Vision: Maryland County shall be a secured, peaceful, socially, economically and infrastructurally viable County with a system of good governance, justice and equal opportunities for all. Core Values:
The County will endeavor to build on our core competencies and values
to support: Equal Access to Opportunities for all. Restoration of Peace, Security and the Rule of Law. Transparent and Effective Governance. Sustainable Economic Growth and Job Creation. Preservation of Natural Resources and Environmental Protection.
Overview: Maryland County is one of the first four counties of the Republic of Liberia. Initially the county was not part of the Republic of Liberia during its founding. The County was established by a resolution of the Legislature of the Republic of Liberia in 1857. The resolution admitted the State of Maryland in Liberia as a County to the Republic with all privileges, immunities and rights accorded the three original counties. The Maryland State Colonization Society as a home land founded the territory on 12 February 1834 for free American Slaves. The territory was first established as the Colony of Maryland. It was incorporated into the “Republic of Liberia in 1857. Harper City is the political capital of the County and is also known as “Cape Palmas”.
Maryland County is endowed with rich soil, minerals, ocean, rivers, lakes and
forest. All of these natural resources have high potential for investment.

County Government

County Abbreviation: MY
Created: 1857
Capital: Harper
County Flag: The flag of Maryland County has three major colors, green, blue and yellow, with a palm tree and lighthouse inscribed in the field. The green color and the palm tree denote the county’s abundant natural vegetation; the yellow colour depicts the “sunshine”, the blue colour for the ‘valour’ of the County and the lighthouse as a guide for navigation. The County flag also has an insertion of the Liberian National Flag on the upper left-side.

State Website:
Local Government:


Resident Population: 135,938
Districts: Maryland County is divided into seven main administrative Districts (Whojah, Gwelekpoken, Nyonken, Karluway # 1, Karluway # 2, Pleebo/Sodoken and Harper). A district commissioner heads each district. The County has two Statutory Districts – Barrobo and Karluway, each headed by a statutory district superintendent

Race/Ethnicity: The predominant ethnic group is Grebo, with Kru following closely.



Hospitals: The status of health services in the County has been gradually improving, but much still needs to be done to ensure access to quality health care for all the people of Maryland. According to the County Health Team (CHT), there were 23 health facilities
before the war, but presently there are only 17 supported including one referral hospital (JJ Dossen Hospital, supported by Merlin) and 16 clinics (7 supported by UNHCR through MERCI, 2 by Catholic Health Services, 1 by a private company, 4 by UNICEF through WVL and 2 by Merlin).



The County is known to contain sizeable deposits of gold, manganese and bauxite,
suggesting major prospects for the mining industry. Gold mining in the County is being carried out only on a small scale. Artisanal miners are in need of capacity building and formalization of their informal activities.
Unemployment: Rubber production is the County’s largest industry. Rubber from the County is produced by the Cavalla Rubber Plantation and 115 of small-size individual rubber farms. The Cavalla Rubber Plantation is the largest producer of rubber in Maryland County. The Plantation employs a total of 1,751 people out of which 1,045 are tappers, 54 are employed in the nursery program, and 700 are working in non tapping jobs.
Fishing is a common livelihood activity along the coast, employing an estimated 2,000 people.

County Budget:
Tourist Attraction: With the potential for tourism in Harper and the coastal areas such as Fish Town beach, focus should be directed to the developing resorts with the capacity to house 500 local and international tourists. Other intervention steps would be to establish heritage sites on the historical buildings and monuments and mark them as tourist sites.



According to report from the County Education Office, there are 151
schools in total with 42 in Harper, 40 in Pleebo, 34 in Karluway and 35 in Barrobo. The schools have a total student population of 29,823, of which 16721 (56%) are boys and 13102 (44%) girls. There are 1071 teachers (74% male and 26% female). 40% of the teachers are volunteers, while 77% are not trained. 56 of the schools
have been rehabilitated, 55 have furniture, 32 have water and 61 have latrines.

High School:
Technical School:


Land Area: 5,351 sq km (2,090 sq mi), representing roughly 6% of Liberia’s total area. Location: Maryland County is located in the Southeast most corner of Liberia and borders the Atlantic ocean to the South; the Cavalla River representing the international border with the Republic of Ivory Coast to the East; Grand Kru County on the West; and River Gee County to the Northwest.


Subscribe To LIPD Newsletter

Subscribe To LIPD Newsletter

 Join over 5,700 subscribers & get seminal articles, latest news, and updates from our team dedicated to Liberia’s democracy, stability, and prosperity.

Thank you! Your Newsletter is on the way soon