Liberia is a West African country founded in the 19th century by formerly enslaved Americans. The country is known for its lush rainforests, beautiful beaches, and unique cultural heritage. However, Liberia has faced significant political instability, corruption, and poverty. The country is working to establish a more stable and democratic government promoting economic growth and development. Despite these challenges, Liberia is a resilient and culturally rich nation with much to offer visitors and investors.


Liberia is a West African country founded in the 19th century by formerly enslaved Americans. Here is a possible profile of Liberia:


Liberia is located on the west coast of Africa and shares borders with Sierra Leone, Guinea, and Ivory Coast. Its total area is 111,369 square kilometers, and dense forests, plateaus, and coastal plains characterize its terrain. The climate is tropical, with a rainy season from May to October and a dry season from November to April.


Liberia was founded in 1847 by formerly enslaved Americans who established a government modeled on the United States. For most of its history, the country was governed by a small group of Americo-Liberians, leading to political instability and social inequality. A civil war that began in 1989 lasted for over a decade, leading to the deaths of hundreds of thousands of people and the destruction of infrastructure


Liberia is a presidential representative democratic republic with a multi-party system. The president is both the head of state and head of government, and the legislature is bicameral, consisting of a Senate and a House of Representatives. However, efforts to establish democracy, corruption, and political instability remain significant challenges.


Liberia is divided into 15 political subdivisions, which are called counties. Here is a list of the counties of Liberia:
1. Bomi County
2. Bong County
3. Gbarpolu County
4. Grand Bassa County
5. Grand Cape Mount County
6. Grand Gedeh County
7. Grand Kru County
8. Lofa County
9. Margibi County
10. Maryland County
11. Montserrado County
12. Nimba County
13. River Cess County
14. River Gee County
15. Sinoe County

Each county is further divided into districts and chiefdoms, smaller administrative units. The capital of each county is usually named after the county itself, such as Buchanan in Grand Bassa County and Gbarnga in Bong County


Liberia is one of the poorest countries in the world, with most of the population living below the poverty line. The economy relies heavily on agriculture, with rubber, coffee, and cocoa as the main cash crops. The country also has significant mineral resources, including iron ore and diamonds, but the exploitation of these resources has been marred by corruption and conflict.


Liberia has over 5 million people, with over 30 ethnic groups and many languages spoken. English is the official language, and Christianity and Islam are the dominant religions. The country has a high infant mortality rate and low life expectancy, and access to healthcare and education is limited, particularly in rural areas.


Liberia has a rich cultural heritage, with traditional music and dance, as well as unique styles of dress and cuisine. The country has produced notable musicians, including the singer-songwriter Miata Fahnbulleh, and the Liberian football team is a source of national pride.


Liberia has several tourist attractions, including the Sapo National Park, home to diverse wildlife, including chimpanzees, elephants, and pygmy hippos. The country’s beautiful beaches, including the famous Robertsport Beach, are popular tourist destinations, but tourism still needs to be developed due to political instability and poor infrastructure.

Top Tourist & Historical Destinations

Subscribe To LIPD Newsletter

Subscribe To LIPD Newsletter

 Join over 10,700 subscribers & receive monthly articles, latest news, and updates from our team dedicated to Liberia’s democracy, stability, and prosperity.

Thank you! Your Newsletter is on the way soon